Transport themed cake

Susmit was about to turn two years old, and his mother came to me with a  request for a bus cake or a truck cake, two of his favorite vehicles in the world. The consultation and sketches began with elaborate truck and bus cakes, but then she told me the number of people there were going to be at the party, and we both realized that there was no way a teensie weensie truck cake could serve so many people.

Therefore, we landed up with this design.

This was the first time I was working with isomalt. It definitely wasn’t as easy as I thought it was going to be. But ultimately I was able to get the look I desired.

The tyres of the truck had RKT filling in them. The rest of the truck and bus were in gum paste. It took me five days to build the truck and bus bit by bit, drying the foundation and then putting the pieces together.

The cake itself was made to fit in with the red, blue and white theme of the party. The bottom tier was red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting. The middle layer was blue velvet with blueberry whipped cream and the top layer was  a vanilla cake with pineapple chunks in whipped cream.

Transport cake

This was also the first time I used MDF board for base. MDF is firm enough to bear the weight of the cake, but more cost effective than wood.

I got the board cut to the shape I wanted and covered it with fondant the same color as the bottom tier. I also used a blue ribbon to mask the sides of the board.

I had wanted to use real battery operated LED lights for the headlights of the bus and truck, but I couldn’t find any on time. Well, there’s always next time 🙂

transport cake 2

Did you like this cake? If you have any particular questions about any methods used in this cake, feel free to ask in the comments.

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

